BlackBerry: Good or Bad?

BlackBerry phoneOld Cell Phone

I fell for the trap. Bell told me, “if you renew your contract we will give you a free BlackBerry Pearl.” After some research and thinking, I decided it was a good deal. But what about now that I actually have the phone? How do I feel now?

For the most part, I am very happy with my BlackBerry. I love that I can do so much with it. My life feels more organized. I can get e-mails in an instant, so I’m always up-to-date with what’s happening. I can put events in my schedule so that I will not double book myself. I can even listen to music on days that I forgot my iPod. The best part of my BlackBerry? That’s easy! BlackBerry Messenger- or to those that use it, BBM. It’s like having MSN, but more compact and convenient. Of course, it can only be used to talk to other people with BlackBerries, but that number seems to increase daily! I no longer have to worry about going over my texting limit because it is unlimited!

There are some cool new features that I’m really excited about. Now, you can put your phone camera above another person’s phone that has a barcode displayed. Their contact information is automatically added to your BlackBerry, and they are officially in your BBM. The new BBM is better. Now you can add an avatar photo that your BBM friends can see. There are also more emoticons. Unfortunately, these emoticons can not be seen by those that do not have the new BBM. This brings me to the downside of BlackBerry.

After a day of trying, I failed to update my BBM. It worked fine for my boyfriend, but my phone would not allow me to because my internet is disable. I disable it so that I would not accidentally go online and be charged $10. There has to be an easier way to update. If there is, we couldn’t find it.

Another problem, while also being a positive, is the keyboard. I love that it’s in QWERTY format because it is so much easier to type. However, I have run into problems with it as well. For example, the other day I was trying out the new pay by phone parking. They asked me to enter in my license plate. I couldn’t do it because I do not remember which letters go to which numbers on regular phones. I had to grab my sister’s phone to look. Another time that this has been a problem is with 1-800 numbers. I can’t call 1-800-Go-Fedex. Companies need to realize that this is common, so they should also show the full number. I also cannot call in to our local news radio station with traffic updates. They say, “call us at #1130 with any traffic updates.” Whenever I try a robotic lady tells me that the call cannot be completed as dialed. I do not know why this happens, but it does.

Overall, I love my BlackBerry. I wish there were a few more free applications like with iPhones, but I can (and should) live without those. BlackBerry really is more of a really compact computer that can do almost anything… except update properly. Of course, I only touched on the more basic and obvious features of the phones. Let’s not forget BlueTooth capability, voice dialing, etc. You’re almost there BlackBerry! Just a bit more research and fine tuning, and your phones will be perfect!

Leave a Reply

