Book Buzz

I just returned from Indigo bookstore. I have an undeniable book buzz. Being in the store is so revitalizing. All those new and shiny books just waiting for you to choose them- adopt them.

These lucky books got adopted!

I bought the perfect combo of books.
Book 1) the next book that just got released in the series I have been reading
Book 2) a new and exciting book
Book 3) a really good deal

The reason buying a book feels so good is because it is self indulgent while actually being good for you. A book can take you to new worlds. It can teach you new things and can change your life. It expands your horizons and helps your brain grow.

What book have you read lately that really impacted you? What do you love about bookstores?

❤ Milieu

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m a little frustrated right now. I work in walking distance of three of New York’s greatest bookstores. The Strand, St Mark’s, and the giant Barnes & Noble in Union Square. Not ONE of them had the book I was looking for.

    Had to complain about that. I just bought “To the End of the Land” by David Grossman. A hardcover, so it was a little more money than I had hoped to spend, but it’s long and pretty good so far, so i think it’s worth it.

    1. milieus says:

      Oh! If you’re working that hard to find it, it must be good. What genre is it?

  2. nelleytimes says:

    I was never really a book store gal. Libraries held that appeal for me. I would go online to amazon.com, find all the books I wanted to read and then go to the library to find them or reserve them if they weren’t in yet. I think I spent more in late fees than I would have spent on the actual books themselves, lol! Even here in Vancouver I think I owe $20+ in fines and fees @ the VPL. tee hee.
    Otherwise, I haven’t read a real book in months. On my dresser now is the book Wicked and I need to start reading that ASAP!
    What recommendations do you have?

    1. milieus says:

      What kind of books are you into? Is the book you’re reading related to the musical?

      I recently read “A Vintage Affair” by Isabel Wolff. It was by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. It was a bit more serious than I usually read… I fully cried on the bus on the way across Lion’s Gate Bridge. It was pathetic! This book is definitely a book for women. It is about beautiful clothing, friendship, tragedy, love, and clothing. Wait… I said clothing twice.

      If you like a more light-hearted, don’t have to think type of book, I love the Broken Heart Series by Michele Bardsley. They’re vampire romance novels… but not like Twilight. More like adult Gossip Girl with sexy vampires and less stealing each others’ boyfriends.

Leave a Reply

