Low Fat, Sugar Free, Gluten Free Corn Bread

It’s later than I usually blog, but I couldn’t help but post this. Yesterday I was reading Spoonful of Sugar Free and I really wanted to try her recipe. I am adjusting it a bit by making it gluten free. I’m going to keep you updated in somewhat real-time!

To start with, I poured myself a glass of wine. This was the closest wine glass to me. I love this glass!

 

Ahhh... Wine. WordPress rotated this picture.

 

The I started mixing the ingredients together.

 

No gluten here!

 

By the time I was done washing dishes, it had been 15 minutes, so I decided it was time to check on my corn bread. It wasn’t quite done, so I put it in for another 5 minutes. 5 minutes later, I have this…

 

First time's a charm!

 

It worked! Yay! Now I’m going to let it cool down. While waiting, I’m going to quickly tell you about the wine I’m drinking. It’s Prospect Winery’s The Census Count Chardonnay. I’m really enjoying it. I love Chardonnay, and this is definitely in my top favs. list.

I am making this corn bread for Thanksgiving Dinner at my boyfriend’s house. There are going to be about 20 people there. I love them all so much. Turns out my corn bread didn’t make as much as I had hoped. I put a little bit in a separate dish for taste-testing/ tomorrow’s lunch purposes. And now it’s time for my taste-test! Drumroooolllll!!!!

So, it’s not bad. I forgot to put oil on my personal serving. Good thing I remembered for my main one because it’s sticking. It’s not quite as corny as I had hoped. It’s also a little salty. I’m not sure how that happened because I didn’t actually add the amount the recipe called for. I was using a salt shaker and got lazy. Haha! I think it’s because I didn’t use real flour. I have a feeling the flour absorbs the saltiness. I once had cornbread that had a little zip to it. Someone told me that it had crushed chili peppers in it. I’m going to try that next time. Spoonful suggested putting some corn in it to make it chunky and yummy. I will definitely do that too.

I thought it would only take about half an hour to make, but it took me closer to an hour. That’s my fault though. With some practice I will get faster.

Thanks for the great recipe, Spoonful! Keep the recipes coming so I can keep making your food!

❤ Milieu

4 Comments Add yours

  1. flashuac says:

    Very interesting post! 🙂

  2. milieus says:

    Hey everyone!

    I noticed a couple people have been searching for an egg free corn bread. I’m working on it! I don’t like eggs and have been trying to find a good replacement. I’ll keep you updated.

    If anyone knows of a good egg substitute (needs to work in cupcakes), please let me know!!

    ❤ Milieu

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    It looks great! And I actually made my cornbread recipe a few days ago, except substituted brown rice flour for the whole wheat flour. It worked fantastically!

Leave a Reply

