My Battle with Coffee

This morning, I was able to resist my usual first cup because my stomach was a bit upset. Now I am craving my hot cup of caffeineliciousness. This got me thinking about my struggle with coffee.

I gave up coffee for Lent once, about 3 years ago. I am so glad I did it. I was at the point of not being able to function, having splitting headaches, and basically running on caffeine. My brain was fuzzy. I couldn’t focus. The first 2 weeks were brutal. You did not want to know me. I was cranky and sick. After those first few weeks, something happened. The headaches were fewer, and I could actually focus. My textbooks had words, instead of random blurs. 

Once Lent was over, I had a coffee the next day. For a while, I was able to keep my coffee to a minimum. Over the last couple of years I have re-quit, become re-addicted, and have been in between.

I am at a point in my life where I want to stop drinking coffee again. The problem is that I really don’t want to. I love the taste, the warmth, the feeling of comfort. I mean, there are worse things I could be addicted to. Coffee isn’t all that bad for me, right? The easy answer would be to drink decaf. Nope. Not an option. Decaf tastes like water. I do like tea. During the time I gave up coffee I began to appreciate it more. But tea isn’t coffee. It’s tasty, but it isn’t coffee.

Living in Vancouver means that my life revolves around coffee. Everywhere I look is a Starbucks or local coffee shop. When you want to catch up with a friend, you meet up for coffee. When you need a break from the office, you go for a coffee break. Everything is coffee, coffee, specialty latte, coffee, and some more coffee.

So, back to my question. Should I give up coffee? Or since it really isn’t harming me, should I continue drinking that full-bodied delight that seems to define me?

❤ Milieu

PS: For more of my coffee adventures, check out my other blog Coffee Shop Daydreams!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Posky says:

    Coffee can become as dreadful of an addiction as smoking but it offers similar benefits without the drastic health defects. There are plenty of reasons not to drink coffee but do you really want to quit? It doesn’t sound like it.

    I hope that you continue to enjoy and experience life and that you continue to enjoy coffee if it brings you joy and gives you the wild caffeine rush that makes life so livable.

    1. milieus says:

      Thanks for the great note and the encouragement!

      I don’t think my addiction is as bad as it can be, but it’s definitely starting to get in the way work. How can I be productive if I’m falling asleep from lack of caffeine?

      ❤ Milieu

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    I love coffee, too, but I can’t drink it because it keeps me up at night! I like decaf, but i can’t drink it because as an athlete, it make me dehydrated 😦 I think you should give it up for a while because it sounds to me that you felt a whole lot better without the stuff!

    Plus it makes you feel like you can live without something!

    1. milieus says:

      I agree. I should try and quit. The funny thing is that the day that I wrote this, I started a new habit… more coffee. I haven’t been sleeping, so I am basically running on it now. Speaking of which… I think I’m going to go get a coffee. My plan is to get lots of rest this weekend (I find it easier to not drink coffee on weekends) and go from there. This weekend is the beginning of my new attempt at not drinking coffee. I think I will blog about my experience. Might as well.

      But then I have another problem… if I stop drinking coffee, what will I have to write about in my Coffee Shop Daydreams blog?

Leave a Reply

