Random Ginger Chicken Recipe

Tonight I am experimenting with chicken. A new thing for me because I am using my oven- not my handy George Foreman. I found a recipe yesterday that I wanted to try. I don’t have all the ingredients so I am substituting. Turns out, it’s not really the same recipe at all. I figured out after I started that this recipe is supposed to be pan fried. Don’t ask… I haven’t slept and have had way too much coffee today. (So much for quitting!)

I have decided that I like reporting on my recipes in real-time. Then you can get my real cooking experience. I have no idea if this recipe will be good or not. So stay tuned! Ooh! A recipe and suspense! How often do you get that combo? Not often enough, I say.

Another thing is that I don’t measure when I cook. When baking, I’m exact down to the little detail. Not so much when I cook.

Ok, so I preheat my oven to 375*F. I cut my chicken into slightly smaller pieces, because my boneless skinless chicken breasts are the largest boneless skinless chicken breasts I have ever seen in my life, and I don’t have all night… I’m hungry. I put the chicken in a casserole dish.

I add a few shakes of salt, pepper, and garlic. Then I shake in some ground ginger. I squirt some lemon juice in and put in a few drops of hot sauce. I add a couple teaspoons of ginger syrup.

Then I put the chicken in the oven. And that’s where it is now.

There’s the 10 minute beep. Gonna check it out. Hmm… smells kind of tasty. Set it for another 10 minutes.

Beep! Time to check again. Not even close… Roast chicken sure takes a long time. What should I have on the side? I have decided I’m lazy and need some veggies, so I am just having some red and yellow pepper slices.

And another beep. There is a nice looking juice at the bottom of the dish, but the tops of the chicken are looking a little dry, so I flip the pieces. Because the bottom looks bare, I add some more ginger syrup.

I forgot to reset it. I think it’s been 5 minutes. It looks almost done but still has some pink. I set it for another 10 minutes.

It’s done! 45 minutes? Are you kidding? Taste test… it’s actually pretty good! I love ginger, so I really like this. When you serve it, scoop on some more juice to make it extra juicy. The more I eat, the more I realize the hot sauce played a huge factor. I used Busha Browne’s Pukka Hot Pepper Sauce. It tastes gingery with a good spicy zing!

My very own ginger chicken!
One Comment Add yours

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Yum! I love ginger, too! I like roasting my chicken-spread some olive oil on it and spices and put it in the oven! CHeck it about every 15 minutes to pour some of the juice back on (makes it nice and tender)

Leave a Reply

