Search for the Best Cupcake Part 7

And I’m back! Cupcakes, here I come!

The Purchase

Yesterday, my mom and I were in Bellingham for a little mother-daughter shopping/relaxation time. Naturally, we had to stop at Fred Meyers. I honestly didn’t know what to expect. I thought it was a grocery store. Boy, was I wrong! It’s an everything store!

After some clothing and wine shopping, we hit up the bakery to find corn bread. I guess my mom had a random craving for it. By the way, buying wine and clothing at the same time feels really good. I think I should add that to my tips on curing your shopping craving. Anyways, I digress. So, there we were standing in the bakery, and I see this:

The Temptress...

(As usual, I’m sorry for the bad photo quality. My Blackberry is not an iPhone 4 with high a res camera.)

I am a sucker for a pretty cupcake… especially one that flaunts its chocolate. Bad cupcake! How dare you be such a temptress? I asked the nice bakery lady how fresh they were. Just made that day. Perfect. She put the little beauty into its cute little plastic protective shield and handed it to me.

The Cupcake

The cake is decent. Moist enough, with a good chocolatey flavour. Not the most flavourful cupcake ever, but definitely not the worst either. Maybe the best for being from a grocery store.

The Icing

I don’t know how to describe this icing. It tastes almost more like whipped cream. It is very yummy. If the whole cupcake was made of that, I would not complain. I would say this is in my top favourites list.

The Surprise

As if I wasn’t content enough, I reached the middle only to find a delightful surprise. That yummy whipped cream icing I was talking about goes down through the cupcake. No way! That just made my day! It’s crazy that icing made me so happy, because I am wearing a cute new beret. No, that was not supposed to rhyme. I’m just being honest.

Surprise!

The Conclusion

Go to Fred Meyers. Right now. The cupcake was only $2.50, which is more than Safeway (which I have yet to try) but cheaper than Cupcakes. It didn’t win my contest, but it was a good contender. It definitely gets an honourable mention.

ā¤ Milieu

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Posky says:

    Cupcake reviews and the hunt for the world’s perfect one is likely one of the all time great ideas of the decade.

    Thank you for this gift of gifts.

    I wish you luck in your journey.

    1. milieus says:

      Thank you so very much. It’s nice to be appreciated for one’s love of cupcakes.

  2. molls225 says:

    Wow, this looks amazing. NYC has so many cupcake places, even a cupcake truck! I need to take advantage of this more.

    1. milieus says:

      A cupcake TRUCK?! Do they drive around like an ice cream truck? That is brilliant. I need to try one of their cupcakes. Just one more reason I need to go to New York… as if I didn’t have enough reasons before!

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    It reminds me of a Hoho bar!!

    1. milieus says:

      Haha! Yeah! Actually, one type was decorated like a Little Debbie’s Chocolate Cupcake thing. So, pretty much a hoho.

  4. nelley says:

    So I’m thinking the cleanse is now over? šŸ˜‰ lol! Looks yummy. I want it in vanilla.

    1. milieus says:

      There were two different vanilla cupcakes. One had a pretty flower on it.

Leave a Reply

