The Cold Streets of Vancouver

I walk down the busy streets of Vancouver.
Just like I do every morning.
But something is different today. So different.

The trees have lost all their leaves.
The ground feels harder than usual.
The air in front of my face is white and smokey.
The people are wearing bigger jackets. Scarves. Gloves

My face begins to sting.
My wet hair touches my neck and makes me shiver.
I breathe on my hands to warm them up.
It’s then that it hits me. Fall is gone.

Fall only stayed for a fleeting time.
It went on its way and allowed winter to take over early.
There is snow on the mountains.
It will soon be here.
On the streets.
On the cold streets.
On the cold streets of Vancouver.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Hmmm….it is still hot in Florida!!! Haha….80* yesterday 🙂

    1. milieus says:

      No fair! Actually… I like snow. I think I would miss it too much if I lived in Florida.

  2. nelley says:

    Nice! Plus u forgot to mention that we barely got a summer either. Humph to momma nature. a big ol humph!

Leave a Reply

