Tales of a Diamond Ring: Wedding Fairs

Whenever the big Wedding Fair at the Westin Bayshore comes around, I would get jealous of all of the brides that got to go. This year, I finally made it!

My mom and I decided to pop by for the afternoon. I was scared. What would the other brides be like? Is everyone happy and friendly? Or is it a big catfight to get the best vendors and have the best wedding? I would say it was somewhere in between. No one rude, but everyone was rushing and pushing. Upon entry, we received a big book of forms to enter the draws at every booth. Brides and their guests were rushing around trying to get their name into every box.

I wanted to actually enjoy the fair end learn some things, so my mom and I came up with a great strategy. She would put in my entry at a booth I wanted to look at, then while I spoke to the representatives, she would quickly put entries in boxes of booths I didn’t want to see. She would then come back to me and let me know if she saw anything interesting.

Sadly, we didn’t win anything. We did get some fun free stuff though.

The fashion show was fun. Most moms aren’t as cool as mine. We had a blast laughing at stupid headpieces and picking our favourite lingerie. We agreed which lingerie was cutest for a flat-chested bride like me. She told me that I should put it on my registry. It is from The Bay, after all! She kept telling me I wasn’t allowed to look at dresses because she knows how I get with second-guessing myself. She had nothing to fear because every dress I saw made me love mine even more!

I’m excited to go to more wedding fairs! Indie I Do is on January 22, 2011 and The Wedding Show at Newlands is March 31, 2011. I’ll let you know if I find more!

 

Leave a Reply

