Tales of a Diamond Ring: Teamwork

I know I have been a bit MIA lately. I have a very good reason to be. See, we booked an all-inclusive venue. This means that we are basically done. I just have to come up with ideas, and they make it happen. Because we are basically done, I haven’t had much to write about. I did warn you that this might happen!

A few weeks ago, I went to the Indie I Do wedding show. It was really fun; all sorts of unique and quirky booths. I even saw some people I know. I got some really fun and creative ideas from this show. It was a lot smaller than the big one at the Westin, which was really nice and we got awesome swag bags!

Anyways, on to today’s post. My fiance wants to be involved in all of the wedding decisions. That is what I love about him. This could mean disaster- but we communicate well, and our brains are usually on the same weird wavelength. The way decisions usually work for us can be explained in steps. First, I will show him a couple pictures or drawings of what I am interested in. Then he will tell me what his favourite is. I will usually agree and make a suggestion as to how to make it more personal for us. Then, he will add on to my idea and make it even better. It’s quite similar to a game I used to play in improv called “Yes, And.”

Without communication, decisions don’t get made. It is important to tell the other person what you like about their idea, then give suggestions to make it even better. Always be positive and supportive. You may be surprised as to what your partner has up their sleeve. They may have brilliant ideas that you never thought of. Listen to them, incorporate them, make your ideas work together. After all, that’s what marriage is about!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Public Fat says:

    Sounds like we’ve both been out of the blog loop! I’m getting back on it today as well. Great that your fiance wants to be involved in all the decisions! I’m shocked at how willing mine is to keep up with everything going on as well. I figured he’d be shouting “Shut up about it already!” but it’s much more enjoyable when your partner is into as much as you.

    1. milieus says:

      It’s so true! I’m so happy that he’s involved and excited. It makes me even more excited!

Leave a Reply

