Musical Review: Wickedly Amazing!

Glinda and Elphaba

On Wednesday I was lucky to get to go to the opening night of the Broadway Across Canada production of Wicked. (Yes, I was able to watch most of the hockey game.) I have been looking forward to this day since September. The anticipation was building and I began to get scared that it wouldn’t live up to my expectations. Luckily, it did… and more!

Here are some key things I took away from the show (without spoiling anything!)

  1. Everything is explained. The Wizard of Oz makes so much more sense now.
  2. Nothing contradicts the original story that we all know and love.
  3. The costumes were so fun! It felt very Willy Wonka at times. We were a bit confused by the two male chorus members who always wore skirts.
  4. Anne Brummel who plays Elphaba sounds exactly like Idina Menzel at times. Natalie Daradich was a perky and hilarious Glinda. My fiance couldn’t stop laughing during “Popular.” I was impressed by both ladies.
  5. Only two negatives: a) The lighting was a bit distracting at times. b) Don’t expect to buy any merchandise. They had some of the cutest shirts I have seen at a show, but $50 for a little cotton t-shirt is not worth it.
  6. I believe in the power of the standing ovation. I only stand if they really deserve it. I stood so hard that I thought I was also going to defy gravity! (Sorry, couldn’t resist!) I think I may have even jumped up and down, and there may or may not have been a tear in one eye.
To summarize, if you don’t go to Wicked, you are missing out. However, if you do go be prepared to have all future musicals ruined for you. THAT is how good it was.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. nelleytimes says:

    You’re right. I’ve never heard of Wicked before this year. I love musicals and the theatre but I just can’t keep up with whats out there. As a side note – is cats still in theatre?? lol! Oh and i love your use of defy gravity – clever! I can’t wait to read any other theatre recommendations from you.
    cheers! 😉

    1. milieus says:

      I think Cats is still on Broadway, but I’m pretty sure it isn’t touring right now.

      Theatre Under the Stars in Stanley Park starts tonight and goes until August 20. They’re doing “Bye Bye Birdie” and “Anything Goes.” I’m going to “Anything Goes” tomorrow, so I’ll let you know how it is. Usually I find TUTS performances entertaining, but they are very clearly done by novice performers. The last few years they have been updating and changing the musicals to make them “unique.” I’m fine with that once in a while… but people are going to TUTS to see the classics, and they’re messing with them. Just my opinion though!

  2. I got to watch most of Wicked (accursed alarm! *grumble*) while it was at the Pantages in Los Angeles. I’m not usually a musical fan, but I was blown away by this performance!

Leave a Reply

