#MyFavMonday -Mascara

I’m on a never-ending quest to find the perfect mascara. I have a few favourites, and they’re all great, but I’m always excited to try new ones.

My favourites come in three categories. Affordable, High Quality, and Wow Factor. Affordable used to be Everyday, but my opinion of an everyday mascara is changing as I realize the value of spending money on quality products. Now High Quality is often my every day.

Affordable

L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly Waterproof Butterfly Mascara

This mascara is surprisingly good for its price. The unique brush really coats and lifts every lash. This was my go-to for a long time.

Make sure you get the waterproof with the blue stripes. The regular doesn’t last as well and tends to smudge.

Removes well with makeup remover.

Price: $10-$14 depending on the location and if there is a sale.

 

High Quality

Benefit They’re Real Mascara theyre-real-mascara-hero_3

Life changing. I bought a mini-size once and it literally changed my makeup game. My eyelashes look fake when I use this. I try to save it more for special occasions because it is on the pricey side.

They’re Real lasts all day. It won’t budge. In fact, they invented a special remover for it (which I have never purchased.)

Price: $10 for a mini; $24 for full

 

Wow Factor

Majolica Majorca Lash King MascaraLash King Mascara

When I was in Thailand, I went to Central department store and asked an employee to show me her favourite affordable makeup product. She showed me Lash King Mascara. (Turns out Majolica Majorca is actually a subsidiary of Shiseido!) My dad and I went out that evening, so naturally I pulled out the new mascara. Wow Factor indeed!

If you have never tried a fiberlash mascara, try one now! Tiny little fibers are applied to your lashes, causing extreme length and volume without looking clumpy. My Lash King mascara is the best one of these that I have tried. Some involve multiple tubes where you apply mascara, then fibers, then mascara again. This one is all in one tube. I usually do two coats. It isn’t the blackest colour, so when I need major drama, I add a coat of a really black mascara like They’re Real.

The durability is pretty good, and remover manages to get most of it off. I have had the tiny fibers get into my eyes once or twice, but it won’t deter me from continuing to use it.

Price: $23 on Amazon, but I feel like I only paid the equivalent of $15 in Thailand. If you live in a country where you can buy it easily… buy it!

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

