Review: How ‘Bout Them Apples?

Everyone knows an apple a day keeps the doctor away. Now an apple a day keeps boring cheeks away too!

In my February Topbox, I received TheBalm’s How ‘Bout Them Apples in “Pie.” This is my first TheBalm product that gets to live in my every day makeup kit, so I’m really excited about it. I feel like I’m finally one of the cool kids, or something. (I also have a lipstick that I bought on sale and have only used once, so I’m not counting it.)

the balm pie

The Packaging:

Cute pinup girl on the front: √
Shirtless cowboys on the inside: √
Catchy puns: √
Adorable and creative: √

The Product:

It claims to be a tint for cheeks and lips. The first thing I tried it on was my lips. It was pretty cute, but after just a few minutes I had to take it off and put something more hydrating on. It dried them out almost instantly.

As for my cheeks; I’m sold! It gives just the right amount of colour, in just the right places. It works great paired with cream-based contouring and highlighting. I find blush falls off my face, so I have to reapply halfway through the day. This lasts me almost until the end of work! (Unless my skin is really misbehaving.)

I do have two warnings. First, make sure your skin is hydrated and/or primed because it will stick to dry patches. Second, use a blending sponge especially on the edges so it looks more natural.

Overall score:
  .5
It would be higher if I could actually use it on my lips. I would consider buying this if it came in single packs like my sample, but I’m not sure I love all the look of some of the colours in the  whole palette.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

